Robert Bahr

  Biography   My Works    


My Works

Least of all Saints, the story of
Aimee Semple McPherson

Least of all Saints, the story of Aimee Semple McPherson (Prentice-Hall)

Aimee Semple McPherson captured the imagination of an entire nation, entertained celebrities and royalty, and became one of the most powerful and influential women in American History. She went from the cornfields of Canada, where she was born, to build the seven-thousand-seat Angelus Temple in Los Angeles, and establish her own denomination, The Church of the Foursquare Gospel, which today andhas more than 750 branches in the United States and Canada and more than 2,000 foreign missions. Here is the dramatic story of one of this the century’s most remarkable women.


Indecent Exposures
“A powerful collection that is sure to hit you right in the heart. You are compelled to care about his characters because they’re the people you’ve known all your life. . . . and so, you love them, and wish them the best. . . . I highly recommend Indecent Exposures.”
--Marsh Cassidy, author, publisher


Dramatic Technique in Fiction
To begin with, Bahr’s collection of quotations from classic authors keeps the book lively and authoritative. Emphasizing the need to think about a work before one begins writing, Bahr quotes Jules Verne: “I never begin without knowing what the beginning, middle and end will be.” To make the point of bringing passion into writing, Bahr quotes Thomas Mann: “Feeling . . . rouses life. Life slumbers, it needs to be roused . . . if a man fails in feeling, it is blasphemy.” On style, he gives us Stendhal: “One should not write unless one has important and profoundly beautiful things to say, but then one must say them with the utmost simplicity, as though one were trying to get them by unnoticed.”




Selected Works

Non-Fiction
Least of all Saints, the story of Aimee Semple McPherson
“The reader comes away feeling thoroughly entertained.” . .”
--Dayton Daily News

“A fascinating book.”
--Memphis Press - Scimitar
Dramatic Technique in Fiction
“One of the most exciting books I’ve ever read about writing fiction.”
--John Killinger, former Head of Creative Writing Program, Samford University

Short Fiction
Indecent Exposures
“In the tradition of Albert Camus, Bahr writes lucidly and courageously of martyrdom and rebellion and anger and sexuality.”
--Jay Higgenbothtom, author



Find Authors

Created by The Authors Guild

A note for users of older versions of Internet Explorer, Netscape, or AOL:
This site will look a lot better in a newer browser. Download one for free!
Internet Explorer: Windows Mac   |   Netscape: Windows Mac Other
For AOL users, please choose Internet Explorer above.