Robert Bahr

  Biography   My Works    

The Author

Biography

Robert Bahr had his first poem published in a school newspaper at age 8, and sold his first short article to Fate Magazine at age 16. “My Grandmother told me of a supernatural vision she had, so I wrote it up and sent it out,” Bahr says. “I’m still not sure if my first sale was fact or fiction.”

His first book sale at age 20 to Moody Press was the biography of Evangelist Percy Crawford. Man With a Vision.

Soon after graduating from The King’s College in Briarcliff Manor, New York, he began working at Rodale Press in Emmaus, Pennsylvania. During his eight-year tenure there, he wrote two books for the company and another for the President’s Council on Physical Fitness and Sports.

In 1972 he launched a freelance career, and has written more than 800 articles for such publications as Boy’s Life, Genre, Kiwanis, Men’s Health, The New Physician, Outside, Parade, Popular Mechanics, Mechanics Illustrated, Prevention, Smithsonian, Sports Illustrated, Writer’s Digest, and TV Guide.

His non-fiction books include The Virility Factor (Putnum, 1976; Factor Press 1993), The Blizzard (Prentice-Hall, 1980), Blizzard at the Zoo (A children’s book, Lothrop 1980), Good Hands: Massage Techniques for Total Health (N A L 1984; Thorsons, 1985, Signet 1987), The Hybernation Response (Arbor House 1988), Dramatic Technique in Fiction (Factor Press, 1998).

His short stories have appeared in Drummer, E F Q, Genesis, Genre, High, Iris, Negative Capability, Power, Teen Power, Voice, Harrington G M F Quarterly, and many others. He has contributed to several anthologies, including How We Face Tragedy (William J. Crutza, Ed., Baker), Mobile Bay Tales (Tom Franklin, Barry Nowlin, eds., TCWP Press). A collection of his previously published short fiction, Indecent Exposures, was published by Factor Press in 1993.

Bahr has taught “Non-fiction Book Writing and Publishing” and “The Art and Craft of Article Writing” at the University of South Alabama. He has also been Adjunct Professor of Creative Writing: Fiction at Spring Hill College in Mobile, Alabama.

He is married to Alice Harrison Bahr, and has two adult children: Keith and Aimee Harris.

Bahr is currently finishing and will soon be marketing his coming of age love story, Our Finest Hour.


Selected Works

Non-Fiction
Least of all Saints, the story of Aimee Semple McPherson
“The reader comes away feeling thoroughly entertained.” . .”
--Dayton Daily News

“A fascinating book.”
--Memphis Press - Scimitar
Dramatic Technique in Fiction
“One of the most exciting books I’ve ever read about writing fiction.”
--John Killinger, former Head of Creative Writing Program, Samford University

Short Fiction
Indecent Exposures
“In the tradition of Albert Camus, Bahr writes lucidly and courageously of martyrdom and rebellion and anger and sexuality.”
--Jay Higgenbothtom, author



Find Authors

Created by The Authors Guild

A note for users of older versions of Internet Explorer, Netscape, or AOL:
This site will look a lot better in a newer browser. Download one for free!
Internet Explorer: Windows Mac   |   Netscape: Windows Mac Other
For AOL users, please choose Internet Explorer above.